Increase shelf life of marshmallows

Hello,

I am not a food scientist so I’m looking for help as to why my marshmallows don’t last a minimum of 3 months.

a few factors:

I live in Melbourne, Australia where we have recently had both humid weather as well as damp and wet. We will not have any more humid weather for a while now.
I live 519m above sea level
I don’t want to use any artificial colours or preservatives
When making the fruit versions I am using freeze dried fruit powders
Packaged in Natureflex bags with minimal air but some

The vanilla flavour has the best texture after 4 weeks but smelt ‘off’. It was unfortunately stored in warmer than ideal conditions, but still dry. Approx average of 19-21C.

The fruit flavours have a crumbly like texture inside.

The mallows don’t ooze and are not wet in any way.

My most recent recipe vanilla: (Damp and cool day)

80g beef gelatin
400g water
900g dextrose
400g sugar
300g glucose syrup
400g invert sugar
300g water
8g salt
48g cornflour
80 g vanilla caviar

boiled to 113.6C (to take into consideration elevation of 1722ft, equation being 116C less 1.1C for every 1000ft).
Mixing in a 20L Standing Mixer and whipping until about 38C
About 10 minute total whipping, in 3 speeds

Fruit recipe is same as above however with 6g salt, 60g freeze dried strawberry powder and 40g vanilla extract (replacing the vanilla caviar)

Chocolate is same as vanilla however with 10g salt, 100g cocoa powder (added at whipping stage), 40g vanilla extract (replacing caviar), 6g instant coffee powder.

Thank you anyone and everyone for helping me.

Hi,

Products with high sugar concentrate have long shelf life, generally.

But of course moisture content and also aw value of final product is very important.

And secondly, packaging material must protect the product from moisture and oxygen.

Can you specify the overall nature of your spoiled mallows .
Did you measure water activity ?

thank you for this. can i ask what you mean by ‘aw value’?