How far afield can a Food Science degree get before food employers stop considering its graduates?

Hi,

I’m a professor in a program that offers a BS and MS in “Nutrition and Food Science”. To date, although the degree is quite diluted with classes outside the scope of traditional food science, it seems we’ve had very good success with employers taking our graduates seriously in applications for food science positions.

As a recent movement to better incorporate faculty expertise, and make something “visionary”, and “forward thinking”, etc., the department is considering shifting our program title to something more unique and comprehensive. Among the rough initial ideas considered:

• Sustainable Food Production
  • Sustainability in Food and Wellness
  • Food Sustainability
  • Future of Food and Wellness
  • Etc…?

My concern has been that potential employers in the food industry will look at these on applicant’s resumes and say “that’s not food science… next applicant!”. But, to be honest, I really don’t know. Perhaps employers could find some of these appealing, forward-thinking and employable? I think perhaps the first one has the best shot at that.

I would really like for our department to be inclusive of all its faculty and create a good-spirited program, but I’m quite concerned we’d be negating our students’ ability to be qualified for jobs. I would very much appreciate other people’s thoughts and insights on this matter. Or if anyone has suggestions of what they’ve seen work, that would be great as well! Thanks so much!

1 Like

The place/ location where this course is happening have a major role to play.