FSTDESK

Legal regulations on plant-based dairy products

The increasing trend of vegan nutrition and the acceleration of scientific studies on the subject have pushed states to various legal regulations. Protecting the consumer rights and preventing unfair competition are the basis of the regulations and policies. The European Union took the first step towards plant-based dairy products in 2010. Until this year, the term “milk” was not allowed to be used for plant-based foods. In the decision taken by the European Union Commission (2010/791), some products were included in the “exception” category and stated that they could use dairy products terminology. This use is left to the discretion of the member states. For example, although the phrase “almond milk” is allowed in France and Spain, it is not allowed in Romania, Germany or United Kingdom. The United States of America allows the phrase “milk” for plant-based dairy products with the decision of the FDA (U.S. Food and Drug Administration). In addition, before the FDA decision, United States Court ruled that “a reasonable (sane) consumer can realize the difference between soy milk and cow milk.” According to Turkish Food Codex, the use of “milk” in plant-based dairy products is prohibited, but according to the 2nd part of the Regulation on Food Labeling and Consumer Information, the phrases “contains pork” or “for vegetarians and vegans” are allowed, taking into account the sensitivities of the consumers. As can be seen, there are still legal deficiencies related to the subject. More precise steps should be taken regarding the products.

I am curious about your views and future expectations on the subject…

1 Like

In Brazil, it’s like Europe, so the term “milk” was not allowed to be used for plant-based foods

1 Like

Tradition is hard to overcome; for decades anything that appears like milk if extracted from plant matter are called milk .Hence, the name coconut milk, soy milk.
Anything that appears white if extracted have that connotation ; milky precipitate, milk of magnesia etc
Until that perceptions of appearance is always associated with the term ,it will be difficult to extricate from that naming habit regardless if the item is real milk or not.

1 Like

it could be also because the term ‘milk’ helps few other consumers who are lactose intolerant, and still able to have ‘milk’ since they are plant based and not from real cow or animal milk itself.
Yes agree - we may need some different terminology here.
Also consumers may not get attracted to the terms like ‘plant extract’, ’ Bean extract’ Bean stream, Bean juice etc etc…